What's new
What's new

Machinist v. Millwright

sunluna

Plastic
Please forgive the incredibly ignorant question but what is the difference between the two. When I read the definitions for each I think 'but that's a machinist, or but that's a millwright'. Can someone please enlighten me. I'm a Safety professional and do not want to offend my clients when speaking about their profession.

Thank you kindly!

There is some overlap in both trades and depending on the company or union the definitions and job requirements can differ a lot.. But "generally" Millwrights install, maintain and repair the industrial equipment that machinists use to make parts.

I encounter millwrights, and not machinists, assembling and aligning steam and gas turbine generators in power plants, grinding mills in ore facilities, distillation columns in refineries, and places like that. Millwrights often move from site to site, and machinists typically do not. Sure, there can be millwrights dedicated to one site, like a steel mill.

Machinists make the machine and Millwrights install and maintain the machine. There are basically two types of Millwright...operating and construction. Construction Millwrights install machinery while operating Millwrights maintain machinery. Operating Millwrights 'chase whistles'..at least in the industry I'm familiar with.

Stuart

Please forgive the incredibly ignorant question but what is the difference between the two. When I read the definitions for each I think 'but that's a machinist, or but that's a millwright'. Can someone please enlighten me. I'm a Safety professional and do not want to offend my clients when speaking about their profession.

Thank you kindly!
a millwright is a field machinist. they can take drawings, order supplies, fabricate parts, install and align parts in machines, test and debug machines and maintain machines as needed.