What's new
What's new

magnetic transfer parallels for surface grinding

cuttergrinder

Hot Rolled
We have a job at work that we do every once in a while that requires surface grinding 1/4" steel bars that are 52 1/2" long. The problem is that our surface grinder magnet is only 48" long. The grinder will travel about 54" but the bars spring down on each end where they hang over the magnet causing the ends to grind thicker than the rest of the bars.

Would it work to take maybe 10 pieces of 1/4" x 1" x 53" flat steel and make a laminated parallel with these bars sitting up on their edge with a gap between each one. Then fill the space between each one with fiberglass resin. After it cures then you could grind both sides on the surface grinder. Would this then transfer the magnetism up through the bars and also out to the ends even where it is hanging over the magnet? I have been a machinist for 30 years but I have never used a magnetic transfer parallel. I know they are usually laminated with brass.