What's new
What's new

Got a 2 day suspension. I left my electrical panel doors open with LO/TO in place.

Luke

Hot Rolled
I walked into work this morning, and there by the time clock was my boss. "I need to talk to you". Can I clock in? "No".

So we walk to a room and sit down. He explains that he wasn't the only one that saw the incident last Friday. I am an industrial maintenance technician. I've been with this plant for 13 years with the same job. I do good. Friday, we were upgrading one of the machines and I had the panel Locked and Tagged. It was time for a break and as we were getting ready, I looked at the doors but said to myself, "Nope, it's good, I have it locked". When we came back, my boss was standing there and explained I had to have the doors closed regardless of the LO/TO. Yes, I still have power coming into the disconnect and yes, that was still a hazard. I didn't argue, I just accepted and moved on. So today I got suspended because there was another "witness" and it must have been brought to other managements attention. The boss said due to the "zero tolerance", I nearly was terminated, but instead am on final warning. What a lousy feeling.

yikes....that does suck...accidents happen. Even major accidents. At least noone got hurt, and you are able to learn from this. Going forward, I bet you wont do that again. I wouldnt sweat it too much...they didnt fire you when they could have, which means they must appreciate you.

Wow Nothing worse than the feeling of possibly loosing a job. Look on the bright side you still have a job a lot of people don't. Like alloutmx said don't sweat it.

My take

You are no longer wanted there, don't prolong the agony, it's time to pack your bags and move on.

Don't mess about, first thing, first shift back, go and hand in your notice, collect your tools and personal belongings and leave the plant immediately.

YMMV