What's new
What's new

New member question

Status
Not open for further replies.

slay

Plastic
Hi,

I am new to the forum and fairly new to machining. I had limited exposure to lathes many years ago but for all intents and purposes I am just starting out.

I managed to get a old northerntool 3 in 1 machine for free. Everything spins and the motors work but it was missing switches and lots of rust. I am disassembling the parts and using electrolysis to remove the rust and dirt and everything so far seems fine. The machine sat in a barn for many years apparently.

I am trying to remove the main spindle for the lathe portion. There is a vertical piece that has a pulley on one side and that connects directly through to the lathe spindle. I removed the chuck and got down to the bearings but now I am wondering how to remove the pulley. Seems there is a nut of sorts with 4 holes and that is takes a special tool to remove. I was hoping someone here would know what that tool is so I know what to look for and so I don't get the wrong piece.

Also, as far as the bearing are concerned in this housing, can they be removed and put back? Will it take a hydraulic press to put them back? It's hard to tell without getting the pulley removed.

Thanks is advance for any assistance you can provide.

-g

Slay, that type of machine tool is banned here, by the rules above. Your post will be closed. Kinda hard-nosed but that's where the line is drawn on this professional machinests forum and we like it that way.

Lurking here for a while will teach you the ropes and much more.

Bob

Slay, that type of machine tool is banned here, by the rules above. Your post will be closed. Kinda hard-nosed but that's where the line is drawn on this professional machinests forum and we like it that way.

Lurking here for a while will teach you the ropes and much more.

Bob

Professional machinists, sure. Like you. There are a lot of garage weekend warriors here.