What's new
What's new

Making a round rifle scope stabilizer for a hexagonal barrel

tundrawolf

Plastic
Hello,

I have a small 22 caliber rifle with a hexagonal barrel. I am mounting a rather large scope on it, the mount for the scope overhangs over the barrel a bit and I need to stabilize it.

I am new to using a lathe. I just bought a small lathe. I am not new to fabrication though and until now have used a Dremel or files to shape.

I am asking the best way to do this. Basically I need to have a round piece of metal with a flat spot machined in it for the scope mount, with the center being a hexagon to fit over the barrel.

The barrel is no more than 3/4" thick top to bottom.

Would a rounded 1/32" endmill work for making the hex?

I will try to get pics of what I want.

Basically a round piece of metal with a flat portion for the scope base to rest on that slides onto the barrel smoothly with a setscrew.

Gun barrels are usually cylindrical or octagonal (8-sided). I don't think I ever saw a hexagonal (6-sided) rifle barrel.

As for your question, I could not figure out what you want to do. Post a picture, and you might ask on the PM gunsmithing forum. But don't mention that brand of lathe on PM.

Scopes are usually attached to old rifles by drilling and tapping two or four shallow holes in the top of the barrel and fastening on a rail or two scope mounts. I don't know what a 1/32 endmill could do in that regard. It would be a shame to mess up a good rifle.

Larry

Where to start?

This is hobbyist question, should be posted on a hobbyist forum.

or,

Huh, you want to put a scope on a .22 ??? Trying to terrify the squirrels? What's next, a laser range finder? How about this: hook up a chain feed with a modified receiver so you can fire 150 rounds a second. That ought to scare the little peckers shitless.

or,

A hexagonal gun barrel. HEXAGONAL gun barrel. You from Pluto, son?

or,