What's new
What's new

Manufacturing stepped bore pipe

jepa

Plastic
Hello,

I'm looking for advice in manufacturing (several) stepped bore brass pipes as shown in picture. The problem is that I don't have access to CNC machines but I'm able to rent some time to work with lathe if needed.

I also have drill press at my garage so I was wondering if it would be possible to order custom made reamer that could produce the stepped design at once? I'm worried about if the tolerances would suffer greatly and if it's even possible to ream a pipe this long. Any recommendations?

Please be patient as I'm total beginner in machining. Thanks!

pipe.jpg

I would check with some of the outfits that grind rifle chambering reamers. A simple "D" reamer could be made cheap and easy.

Ed.

Your drawing isn't complete without:
1. tolerance on each hole size.
2. concentricity of each hole to centerline/each other/outside dia.
3. length tolerance on each step.

I would check with some of the outfits that grind rifle chambering reamers. A simple "D" reamer could be made cheap and easy.

Ed.

Possibly, but;-

1 A reamer over 6'' in length IS NOT be cheap, let alone having 11 diameters!

2 Cutting all those diameters in one hit is going to be a high torque operation, which will require great care to avoid breaking the tool, a nightmare to clear the swarf, and have every chance of the reamer veering off centre and / or chattering.

That said it's still a pig of a job and one I'd no quote!

But if I ''had'' to do the job ;-

FWIW 1 If it were me boring will be a nightmare, so I'd make a series of stepped reamers to do max of 2 diameters at once, with a series of guide bushes for alignment from the previously reamed hole.

FWIW 2 Unless for some unstated reason it HAS to be of that design? .....I'd find another way of achieving the required results.