What's new
What's new

Internal thread gauging (plug style)

Spelunker

Aluminum
Hi Forum,

Perhaps in all of you infinite wisdom, you all could help settle a minor disagreement in our QA department. Here it is:

I have been machining since 1987(thats not an indicator of my skill, I know, so dont bust my chops please), and the whole time, I mean the WHOLE TIME, whenever I have tapped a hole and then gauged it using a Plug style GO/NO gauge I have been using 1 1/2 turns on the NOGO to determine if the thread is good. My QA guy says that 3 turns is allowable on NOGO. Who is right???

any help, as always is much appreciated.
Thank in advance.

Kev

1.5 turns is what I use under normal conditions. When things are working as they should it's usually under 1/2 turn. 3 turns would tell me that something is very wrong with the setup.

Without getting into the ISO stuff and class of fit, my general rule of thumb is 1-2 turns meaning 3 turns is not acceptable. My quality guy is Pratt & Whitney old school/ISO and he will not accept anything more than 2 turns. Hope this helps.

From Inspection and Gaging, page 470

Thread Plug Gages

"The NO-GO end must not enter more than a turn and a half, else the tapped hole is too large."

Also, from the preceding paragraph on the same page...

"... a plug gage must be made for a specific thread size, class, and tolerance. A plug gage with Go and No-Go member tolerances for Class 1 threads, for example, is of no use for Class 3 fits."

- Leigh

Reference: Kennedy, Hoffman, and Bond Inspection and Gaging, Sixth Edition, 1987 Industrial Press, New York ISBN 0-8311-1149-6

I think I am going to roll with " The Real Leigh" on this one.
For no other reason other than it DOES jive with what I have been practicing over the years , as well as he referenced some pretty notable sources.

Thanks all for your input. as always, this forum ROCKS!!!!!

I copied this from Handbook H28, Screw-Thread Standards for Federal Services (1969), Section 6, 3.1.1