What's new
What's new

Material for center punch

68rscamaro

Plastic
I'm a rookie/hobby machinist and I'd like to make myself a couple of center punches. Is there a material that's easily hardened that will hold up? A guy at work suggested rebar.....isn't it already hardened? would it work? 1144 maybe?
Thanks in advance

depending on what OD you are after

an L shaped tire iron is made of carbon steel, easily annealed so you can form it as you like, then reheat and quench in oil, then temper.

smaller diameter?
use the crank extension from the undercar jacks, some of which are about 3/8 inch stock
or the torsion rod springs from under trunk lids on some cars, or the hood support rods are also carbon steel

you get to looking around there are lots of sources for suitable material for punch/ chisel, drill bit, screwdriver shaft, prybars, etc. fabrication.

bob g

I sharpen a point on broken taps to use as center punches. Works pretty good. If you are just starting out you will probably get some broken taps soon.

I sharpen a point on broken taps to use as center punches. Works pretty good. If you are just starting out you will probably get some broken taps soon.
Lol yeah I already have a collection of broken taps!;)
A guy a work has a center punch that one of his machinist buddies made for him.....I figured that would be a simple enough project but he doesn't know anything about it. I would say it's maybe 3/8 diameter 4-5" long.
I may try to find some old hood supports as suggested.

Anything else? Something I could just buy like 10' of raw material to just play around with. I know once I get it right several buddies are going to want one of their own