What's new
What's new

6061 T6 vs 5052 for an automotive stiffening panel?

moespeeds

Plastic
Hey guys I want to replace a tunnel stiffening panel in my Corvette track car with something stiffer. Right now it's 3/32" Aluminum, grade unknown. I see panels sold online in 1/4" and 3/8", 6061 T6 for around $400. The panel is flat and fairly easy to duplicate, but locally I can only get 5052 in 3/8" plate in the size I need. I'm completely ignorant to the properties of either grade, but I do know 6061 T6 is the stronger of the two. No welding or anything like that will be required, just cutting to size and drilling some holes. 3/8: is as thick as I can go because of clearance issues, so making it thicker won't work. Think I'm ok with 5052? Any advice is appreciated...

The strength is irrelevant if what you care about is stiffness. If it really is just about stiffness get whichever Al is cheapest and available.

Regards.

Mike

5052 is definitely gummier. I'm no expert at all with metallurgy but from what I've played with, I think with aluminum the grade and temper and how its rolled not only affects strength but stiffness as well. It's possible that either one will work just fine for what you are doing depending on how much stress it actually sees, but I tend to have a little more faith in 6061.
I'm surprised they don't have it in sheet/plate in your area, 6061 is as common as it gets.