What's new
What's new

Metal footplate for leather tool case

Loriner68

Plastic
Dear all
I'm new to the forum, and have an fabrication enquiry I'd like to ask your collective expertise for advice on.

I'm making a leather tool case by hand, and want to make a metal footplate that protects that base of the case. I've attached a photo and sketch of the design ( hopefully). The design is high spec. It's a simple enough design. I've contacted a number of machine shops and been advised that It can only be made at enormous expense. 30K for the tooling. I've also got advice from a retired engineer that it doesn't need CNC punching, but can be turret punched, thereby reducing the cost.

Can anyone on the forum advise on what options are available. I'm a sole operator doing custom leather cases, so mass manufacture I can't afford nor need. Most companies aren't interested in prototyping or low volume.

Surely there must be a solution out there. I'm also told there's a manual turret punching technique, but thats all I know.

Perhaps there's someone on the forum that could make it?

Thanks
Martin
Sydney

ps files won't upload. But you can email me and I can send you copies.

To make 100,000 of your metal plate at 150 per minute would take expensive tooling.
But I am having trouble imagining any metal bottom-reinforcement plate for a tool bag that could not be made by hand with tin-snips and hammer-and-anvil in less than an hour, for quantities of less than 10 per day

Sheet metal is just like leather, only a little stiffer and holds bends better.

Can you post a rough sketch?

...I'm making a leather tool case by hand, and want to make a metal footplate that protects that base of the case. I've attached a photo and sketch of the design ( hopefully). The design is high spec. It's a simple enough design...