What's new
What's new

MSC, how best to play their game?

DavidScott

Diamond
I am looking into getting a Tapmatic tapping head for my cnc mill. I am wanting to get a RDT25 head and BT30 tool holder that lists for around $1,650 so I want to shop around. I am not a fan of MSC but I figure a quote from them may be worth it, as well as my regular sources. What is the best way to play their game? Who would be the cheapest source for Tapmatic?

I know I have read posts about this but when I did a search for MSC but it came up blank.

I am looking into getting a Tapmatic tapping head for my cnc mill. I am wanting to get a RDT25 head and BT30 tool holder that lists for around $1,650 so I want to shop around. I am not a fan of MSC but I figure a quote from them may be worth it, as well as my regular sources. What is the best way to play their game? Who would be the cheapest source for Tapmatic?

I know I have read posts about this but when I did a search for MSC but it came up blank.

The best way to play that game is to shop elsewhere, Or bend over and grab your ankles.

Ok, smart ass comments aside. I am hoping to get a discount from something like a "personal rep" with them, had one years ago when an employee to give a decent quote then hopefully add a standard 30% discount. My main source for this stuff is Western Tool and I don't expect anything special from them. If I can't get new at a decent price then I will probably get a NCR 0A on Ebay.

Their list price is close to the manufacturer's suggested price. You used to have to have a rep at MSC to get a discount, now you can just ask the phone sales person for a discount even on small purchases and get it. We got a letter sometime back for up to 30% discount on online purchases and phone purchases. I have just mention the letter now.

Ok, smart ass comments aside.

Those aren't smart ass comments, those are comments that reflect reality..