What's new
What's new

Lathe Toolholders and Inserts

Jen

Plastic
Lathe Tool Holders and Inserts - Anyone recommend a reference on the massive variants available and which is best used for what? What are the most common combinations of Tool Holders / Inserts used in Lathe work?

I have an Aloris BXA-2, and I'd like to get some holders / inserts (I have limited time to use the lathe and would rather spend that time cutting instead of grinding tools), but I'm totally confused by all the variants. I'm just starting out using the lathe (Standard Modern 1340) so any help is appreciated.

CNMG 80 degree inserts allow you to turn and face with the same insert and not change the angle of the tool post. They are a neg rake. I use the .015 radiius and the .03 radius.
Check the specs on the inserts to see what metals they are good for. There is a general purpose grade, cast iron, mild steel, stainless and ceramic for hard turning ( no coolant and no interupted cuts ). you just have to eat the sparks!

The two most common insert types are probably the negative rake CNMG432 and a positive rake TPG322. Before spending a dime on this stuff, it would do you a world of good to understand insert and holder nomenclature. And before you bother with that, you should understand tool geometry from grinding a few.

There's other home machinist sites out there, and you'll get a lot of flak for not learning how to grind tools well before considering insert tooling. There's guys that will even tell you flat out that you shouldn't use carbide in a home shop at all, and/or that it's too expensive and you're a loser for not grinding HSS tooling. You won't get that from me. As long as you understand tool geometry and how it relates to cutting action in various materials, you're fine.

If I recall correctly, the BXA holders accept a 5/8" shank tool. You get somewhat limited in choices of available tool holders because of that.