What's new
What's new

Need opinion on Shizuoka VHR-A vertical manual turret milling machine

crtten

Aluminum
Hello All,

I'm looking to buy a 1972 Shizuoka VHR-A vertical manual mill NST #40 spindle, 4hp. It will be for my own personal hobby shop. It's completely manual, has powerfeeds, but no CNC capabilities. (I'm not looking for CNC)

I've seen the mill in person, and it is in good shape, ways are smooth and tight, etc.

It will come with tool holders, a box of end-mills (used), Cincinnati indexing head, Brown and Sharpe rotary table, and Swiss Precision Instruments vise. No DRO. Price is $6K.

1. What are your opinions of Shizuoka mills? Are they good quality?

2. Is the price fair? IE, would you pay that much if in the market?

3. I've done some searching around and they seem to be a rare machine. is it easy and affordable to get parts for it when needed?

Your opinions are appreciated, I've never used a Shizuoka before.

Shizuoka have a very good reputation for making quality machines. I'd think $3k at most would be a reasonable price. I would check parts availibility before I bought an uncommon machine. That's the advantage of having BP's there'll always be a source of parts availible.

if it is in great condition , i would buy it . 6k would be way on the high side for a series 1 bpt.
but that's more of a series #2 machine. unless it is damaged , i'd say get it.

the tooling accompaniment alone would be worth an easy thousand.

if you buy it and hate it, i'll trade you for my 1-D Toolmaster (you pay shipping of course)

that's a sweet machine..... they really don't make 'em like that anymore.

if that were in Atlanta , i'd be figuring how i was to get it home.

You think the price is fair?

if it is in great condition , i would buy it . 6k would be way on the high side for a series 1 bpt.
but that's more of a series #2 machine. unless it is damaged , i'd say get it.

the tooling accompaniment alone would be worth an easy thousand.