What's new
What's new

Need some press fit bore diameters/tolerances for ball bearing.

Wild West

Hot Rolled
I have gone to a few bearing sites but none seem to list the manufacturing tolerances nor do they have a recommendations for press fit tolerances. The bearing is 28mm OD (1.1024") x 12mm ID x 8mm W.. Material to be pressed into: 6061-T6511 alum. Does anybody have any data as I need to purchase plug gages for a production run.

Thanks

You're not looking at the right documents. Every serious bearing maker has comprehensive documentation for recommended/required bearing fits, absolutely with tolerances.

You may not find this info just on a Web page. You may have to download the technical catalog or application guides. For example, here's data from NSK. See Section 8, beginning on page A153.

Probably .0005" max interference. But 0 clearance is also tight enough that you need a light press to install. I fit bearings for a living, and you generally can't slide them in until you've got .0002" clearance. I'd think that goes for a pin gage as well, So size your gages accordingly, from .0002" over to .0003" under.
The bearings I've worked with over the years are in the range of 'on nominal dimension' to .0002" undersize on the OD. That is quite a bit of variation when it comes to tolerance stackup but maybe you can acquire a batch of bearings and customize the tolerance a bit according to the batch's OD.

Operating temperature as well as surface roughness of the bore play a role in how much hoop stress the bearing will see while in use. Make sure to factor these in if there's criticality to the bearing function.

Also, most deep grove bearing can be purchased in a range of internal clearances to accommodate fitting requirements. A bearing that must be very firmly held can be bought will larger inside clearance, and is brought to nominal by compression after installation.