What's new
What's new

Needing an Electrical Manual

thesaurian

Plastic
I have a Boerhinger D490 lathe that when it was moved to its current home experienced an electrical mishap. Some of the magic smoke in the cabinet disappeared in a puff when it was switched from 240v to 480v. The electrician feels he could better solve this problem with a manual, but I don't have one. Anyone able to help? I contacted MAG, who took over Boerhinger, they have nothing here, or in Europe for this machine.

Ideas? Hard to randomly pick parts for replacement and expect success. I live in a corner of the world where the countryside is peaceful, but experienced trades are hard to come by for this sort of thing.

This lathe is the exact one I ran when I was a junior apprentice, and is a workhorse. I'd love dearly to have it running!

I know there are lots of helpful individuals in this community site and I hope someone will help me!

Thanks in advance!

Yes, but I live 3 hrs from nearest city, and even there I'd be skeptical in finding someone. It seems like there is a multi tap transformer that might be the issue, but no idea how to properly test it🤔

Anyone else out there that maybe could offer advice, or shed some light?
Unfortunately, your title does not properly preclude your
request, hence low traffic.

I suggest "Boerhinger D490 lathe electrical help needed"
As a proper title.

Yes, but I live 3 hrs from nearest city, and even there I'd be skeptical in finding someone. It seems like there is a multi tap transformer that might be the issue, but no idea how to properly test it��

Most ofthe time... a transformer can be "documented" safely with use of a lower-voltage transformer and simple math, then "vetted" one or more times with progressively higher voltages.

Ex: Nominal 240 VAC transformer. Many taps.