What's new
What's new

New guy looking for some beginner advice?

jlsmithseven

Plastic
Hey guys,
I just started my second semester in CNC Machine Tool in College and I'm looking for some basic how-to's, good charts and basic beginner handouts that could help me with class.
I finished my first semester pretty well and learned all the basics. I have no real background of machining metal but I have run a planar wood machine in the past for a little bit.
I know how to do basic operations on the lathe and mill. Our first project has to do with threading on the lathe and I've already looked at so much. I just wanted to introduce myself here and see if you guys could point me somewhere in the forum that is a good place to start for beginners. We are just getting into MasterCAM and Inventor as well. We can run the Prototrak A.G.E. 2 as well. Thank you!
Justin

Hey guys,
I just started my second semester in CNC Machine Tool in College and I'm looking for some basic how-to's, good charts and basic beginner handouts that could help me with class.
I finished my first semester pretty well and learned all the basics. I have no real background of machining metal but I have run a planar wood machine in the past for a little bit.
I know how to do basic operations on the lathe and mill. Our first project has to do with threading on the lathe and I've already looked at so much. I just wanted to introduce myself here and see if you guys could point me somewhere in the forum that is a good place to start for beginners. We are just getting into MasterCAM and Inventor as well. We can run the Prototrak A.G.E. 2 as well. Thank you!
Justin

Why are they having you learn Inventor? Its not bad software, but hardly any companies use it. I'm not even sure if it's in the top 10 most used CAD?