What's new
What's new

Wilton Horizontal Band Saw

DacMan

Plastic
Hey everyone I'm new to the forum and hope this thread is placed in the right position. I am a college student and am slowly acquiring machinery for my future home shop. I recently purchased a clean Wilton horizontal band saw for $45.00 with no motor. It's an older 3z990. It originally came with a 1/2hp motor, however I have a brand new 1/3hp motor that spins the stock rpm (1725). I don't want a grossly underpowered saw, however I would also like to avoid buying a new motor if possible. Does anyone have any thoughts on whether I could comfortably get away with a small hp power plant? Furthermore if I do need to replace the original should I consider a higher hp motor maybe 3/4 or even 1?

Thanks, DacMan

Welcome.
I would say the smaller motor is a little underpowered, as ours is 3/4 hp. However, for occasional shop use all you would have to do is slow down your feedrate and it should do fine. choosing a blade that requires less power (less aggressive cut) will also help. How much HP does a hacksaw have in your hand? Far less! you will just have to go a little slower, but I bet it would work and save you some $$

dear DACMan,

I'm italian dealer and shareholder of FORTE bandsaw ( the best in the world ). If do you want some information and improve your cutting solution let me know.
regards

Alberto

First thing I would do is check on blade availability, I have the same one and can only find blades at Grainger & they are expensive. That saw had a strange/odd band size and has been discontinued

A lookup table shows that saw uses a 1/2" x 5'8" blade. 1/3 hp would be plenty of motor to drive a saw using a half inch blade.

You can buy M42 bi-metal blades from 601 Production Band Saw Blade for less than you'd spend at grainger for carbon steel blades.