What's new
What's new

Next step up from SB 10K

Bernalswarf

Plastic
Question: what lathes would be a good general purpose upgrade from a manual hobby type lathe?
I've had my 1960's SB 10K for 20 years, it's always gotten me by. I'm not a pro machinist, but I do use my metal gear for work a fair bit, so say "semi-pro"

I'm focusing more on metalwork these past few years, and the first time I saw a machinist in a job shop running an industrial manual lathe (it was a Mori or a 10EE) was a jaw dropper. It was just a bunch of bushings or something like that, but the spindle was instant on/off, there were travadials and decent reading cross and compound dials, power feeds with levers and auto stops. The parts were dropping in seconds rather than the 5-10 minutes per that it would have taken me

General:
10-14" swing (I almost never go over 6", but I do occasional faceplate work, so a collet oriented setup not likely. No more than 30" long workpiece, I doubt I've ever spun anything longer than 12".
3 phase would have to be by converter, but would I figure that will be needed
Larger spindle: bigger than the 10K's .6875 through-spindle is a must.
Able to take an .060" pass on mild steel
Not fixated on US iron/old iron. If it runs and holds .005 that's the goal. Most of my work is "architectural tolerance"

Not a dream machine, just something I could make 30 threaded bushings on in an afternoon. I could never justify a $10,000 lathe, but would try to go a little north of $5K (and wind up spending $7000 for bare unit plus minimal tooling and build from there)

TIA for your 2 cents

Do you need metric threading? I like my Harrison m300. A three pahse lathe that size will be a little cheaper since home shop types shy away fro m3 phase. But vfd and three phase gives you power brakes, instant reverse etc.
Do not be fooled into investing into a quick change tool post for a home shop lathe. For many home shop types they do not have the need and a HSS lantern post is better.
Bill D