What's new
What's new

Corner Rounding end mills

Douglas mc

Plastic
hello this is my first time using a corner rounding end mill, I would like to know the RPM of the end mill in 1020 steel.
radius is 3/16
shank is 1/2
cutter diameter 3/4
end diameter 3/8
thank you Douglas

Go by the largest diameter of the cutter, which you said is 3/4. That is where they dull first. You can figure the RPM just as you would for a 3/4 endmill. Be careful with the speed, because they cost more and are harder to sharpen than an endmill.

Larry

Douglas, something don't sound right. The endmill is 3/4" dia. with a 3/16" radius can't have or cut a 3/8" dia.. The 3/4" endmill with a 3/16" radius will cut a flat on the bottom of a slot not a 3/8" dia.

I don't use charts to get the rpm and feed for endmills. I do it by how it cuts and the chips. I start at a low speed and feed and work it up. You need to use cutting oil or water based coolant with endmills. You don't want blue chips coming off the cuts. Even tan chips are border line. There is a fine line where speed and feed match with manual mills and you have to learn to feel it during the cut. The slower the spindle speed the more jerking the cutter will do. If you speed up to where the speed and feed gets a fairly smooth feel on the crank and nothing is shaking and jerking and the cutter is getting nice looking chips your there.

even a speed/feed surface inch per minute chart is only a guide.

Yep, that's what I said, a flat on the bottom not a full dia. as a ball endmill will do. It's his description I was taking issue with. A conflict of statement.

I don't think there is anything wrong with the description. Starting with 3/4 and subtracting 3/16'ths twice, once for each side of the mill gives you 3/8. 3/4-3/16-3/16=3/8 As far as the math is concerned it realy doesn't matter whether we are talking about a convex or concave radius.

corner rounding endmill