What's new
What's new

O.T. (slightly) - shop dehumidifier recharge?

AeroncaChamp

Cast Iron
Anyone have any experience recharging portable dehumidifiers?

I can't find a local repair guy that will touch a portable dehumidifier and it bugs the snot out of me that I'm expected to throw it away (actually have to pay money to get someone to take it off my hands here in the P.R of MA! #@$%) and spend $200-300 to buy another one that will last a mere 3-5 years.

I'm pretty sure it's just a very slow leak. Compressors run, and the units both gradually (over a couple years) produced less and less water until they don't produce at all at the start of a season. One of them, an R22-based Whirlpool, was recharged during a recall repair, and worked for 3-4 years with the gradual failure.

I can apparently buy an "environmentally safe" R22 "a" recharge kit, either with or without "leak stop". Has anyone had any success doing this? Any pitfalls to avoid? (I'm an engineer and shop rat... but no hands-on HVAC experience (yet))

I can't find a local repair guy that will touch a portable dehumidifier and it bugs the snot out of me that I'm expected to throw it away (actually have to pay money to get someone to take it off my hands here in the P.R of MA! #@$%) and spend $200-300 to buy another one that will last a mere 3-5 years.

Been there, done that. We have to pay at the local haz waste site for them to take them also. They probably have no refrigerant left, that's why they aren't working, and they have recyclable aluminum in the compressor.

It's a shame with all the focus on "Green" that somebody doesn't come up with a better idea.

I run two of them, one in the basement and one in the shop. Just replaced the one in the basement, got 5 years out of it, the one in the shop went in for warranty service last year, potential fire issue, but it doesn't seem to be pulling as much water as it did before. May be replacing it soon.

Bernard

Hello AeroncaChamp