What's new
What's new

OT: 12" sliding miter saws

Long Tom

Stainless
Sure seems like this is a "can't live without" for a major construction project, and yet I'm sadly lacking in this department! :)

I'm building a house this summer and am tired of the limitations of my 10" fixed miter saw. Do the assembled concur that a 12" slider is borderline a necessity for this job, and if so, which one do you like? I've had good luck with Makita power tools, and older Milwaukie. Dunno Dewalt or new Milwaukie... the "coolest" one appears to be the Bosch with the dual-hinge mechanism.

I am planning on using it for framing work, perhaps to cut Hardiplank siding, then trim work later. There will lots of beams and angled cuts on 2x6's and 2x8's where the work envelope of the tool will be massively appreciated. I'm not a furniture maker and don't need uber-precision here but I want a great tool.

Advice on which to buy? The Bosch is $750 so that's my absolute max.

As a former carpenter, I despise DeWalt hand tools. That being said, in many years, I never had a hiccup from either of my DeWalt miter saws, one sliding, one non. I recommend them highly. Don't get me wrong, I love Bosch tools, and I bet theirs is sweet, but I have no experience with it. I can tell you that the DeWalt (unless things have changed since I bought my last one) will run forever, won't overheat, won't eat bearings, and will just generally be a workhorse. My $.02.

At that price consider an old Dewalt or Delta 16" radial arm saw. Yes they weigh a lot, like 500 pounds, but you can resell it for what you get it for on craigs list. I got my dewalt for $125, on a trailer. 5hp, 3phase, with converter box, on mine the height adjusting gearbox was cracked so I replaced the whole lift with a electric actuator. I mostly use it for cutting firewood to length.
The delta is a little smaller with the turret arm.