What's new
What's new

OT: Broken Engine Valve, how to prove the cause?

SND

Diamond
So, here is the scenario.

2000 Volkswagen Golf, diesel engine. 108,000KM(about 67,000miles?) goes in for a new water pump and timing belt change at the same time. Car comes out, owner drives about 30km and car stops. Turns out theres a broken valve, it broke at the stem just above the tapered part (I'm no mechanic and don't know the real terms). Dealership says " oh this never happens, it can't be us" and they say over 5000$ to fix it.

Since in the automotive world a lot of things seem to happen by magic, and it is always" the first time this ever happened."

What do you guys see as possible causes for 1 valve to break?

I doubt any pictures were taken of the actual alignment of the belt before the engine was taken apart. So I don't think we can really prove that it was a job done wrong, can we?
I did google and found another instance that is said to be wrong timing and a valve broke, with pictures included and looks just the same.

Would a car make it 30kms if the timing was a little off before something breaks?

So what would you do? is there anything that can be done at all?

Thanks for any Input.

They could have timed it up wrong initially, span the motor round on the starter (as opposed to rotating it by a socket on the pulley by hand for the first few revs), heard this big thunk noise created by the valve catching the piston and bending/being weakened, then re-timed it properly and hoped nobody notices.Unless theres cut marks on the piston crown that would correspond to its position when inside the motor, theres not a lot of ways of proving this.
Most likely they'd whistle innocently and get away with it and 30kms down the road the now weakened head falls off.

Ive drove 300kms with a bent valve not seating properly back to my workshop where I could take care of business properly in a needs must situation, but on a renault not a golf...