What's new
What's new

OT Copper content in large transformers

SBAER

Hot Rolled
I bought some large transforms, 150KVA, 900lbs. I have never sold such large transformers, so I don't know if there is much of a market for these things. Does anyone have any idea what proportion of the the transformer's weight is copper? I have heard that the silicon steel is worth more than normal steel as scrap, is this correct?

I'm no expert, but I have been made to understand that some of the older transformers had PCB's in them. That is, if they're not the "dry type"

I now wait for someone who knows what they're talking about to straighten me out and expound on this. I'm just trying to keep you from opening a can of worms.

Richard

There are guys that come up from Mexico to look at our transformers and determine whether or not they are usable or can be rebuilt.

If you advertise a little online, you'll have plenty of traffic interested in these who are willing to pay several times scrap price.

I have a friend that is a scrapper. He gets transformers all the time. I know he spends the time ripping them apart for the copper, but i cannot see how he comes out ahead spending the man hours deconstructing those damned things. I think he just likes destroying stuff anyway so it doesnt matter, but i would imagine he's only making a couple bucks per hour if you do the math. Not worth it to me, but i wonder if theres any other meathods for dismantling them thats more efficient. Once apart, there are all those copper plates to seperate. What a pain in the ass.