What's new
What's new

shed for small "home shop"

sen2two

Aluminum
I finally bought a house after many months of searching. But one of the major things I wanted, I had to give up. Which is A large garage or huge detached shed. I have a lot of car parts, mechanic tools, and 4 cars... So My normal sized two car garage will not fit a lathe and mill comfortably at all. The homes I found with nice detached workshops and larger garages were often beat down or over my price range.

So I was hoping to build a small shed just large enough to fit a mill and lathe with room to work. I don't need a lot of room, just enough to work without hitting my elbows on the wall or machines...

Coming up with a floor sturdy enough to hold these machines without them rocking is the main problem. Oh, since I am unsure at the moment if I would be allowed to pour concrete, I would like to keep that out of the plans.

Any ideas? I have no real experience with this type of work...

If you have a wooden floor, why not cut holes in the floor and cast in concrete pedestals at points suitable to mount your machines on.
Frank

Input from someone in a similar boat...

My 2 1/2 car garage has never had a car in it from the day I bought it. Decades of woodworking tools pretty much filled it up. I've shuffled and reorganized and have managed to cram my woodshop, ceramics shop (wife's) and metal/welding into the space, but there's barely room to function. Each job requires moving my RoadKing out into the drive and usually shuffling around tools. Mobile bases, one by one, for the smaller stand tools are helping, but I'm out of space with a mill just added.

I've been pricing steel buildings, more than a shed, and have come to the conclusion in the 2 years I've been trying that I can't afford one and a slab.