What's new
What's new

OT: Help on buying dual sport mortorcycle

smallshop

Diamond
Hey guys,

Here's the parameters:

Mostly street riding some trail. 2-3k budget. Something a 250lb rider can ride. Age of bike not an issue if it has a reputation for lasting. Prefer air cooled but not rabid on this. 4 stroke only.

I have no knowledge of dual sports but think one may be the most bang for my buck. I haven't ridden since my 20s and most of my internet drooling has been over old imported cafe racers. (one of these might do but I never find anything in the 2-3k range that doesn't need seroius work)

This bike would be transpo here in Simi Valley for about 8 weeks then a putting around machine for the back roads of Montana....

Thanks,
Ted

I live in a desert town and hundreds of trailers with off road bikes pass through here every year.
75% of them are BMWs, and the rest are KLRs.
Most people say that a electric start water cooled KLR is the best bike for your situation, dead reliable, lots of aftermarket, cheap to buy. They are light enough to pick up for the tenth time in some sandy arroyo. And they are pretty crash-proof.
The BMWs are real bulky and high, in my opinion. And parts and service are expensive.
I have friends that ride down to Copper Canyon in Chihuahua every year. One found that there are no Suzy dealers in Chihuahuha City, but good Honda nand BMW dealers.
One rode a Norton Commando...a real adventure.
I'd look at KLRs.

Zachary

One of the older BMW boxers, 650 or 750 would be nice. It is a pity you are prejudiced against two stroke because a Suzuki GT 750 three would be my first choice.

Charles.

yeah, a Suzuki GT750 (AKA Water buffalo) is a really nice dual sport bike. Sheesh, where do some of these guys come from?. KLR will do the deed nicely.