What's new
What's new

OT: Schaeffer oil products---your opinion please?

stuball48

Stainless
My brother and nephew roll 12-15 hundred round bales of hay each summer and use Schaeffer oil products on the hay mowers and much of their farm equipment. They, also, us it on their personal vehicles when they change oil. Change oil every 6,000 miles.
One product they use on the cogs and gears of their baler prevents dust from sticking to these parts. I mean you can spray it on a shop rag---drop the rag on a dusty floor---put your foot on it and grind it in---pick it up and no dust. Have any of you use Shaeffer products and if so, what do you think?

I Have been using Schaefer products for about 20 years now in a marine Diesel with extended oil changes and it seemed like when I first switched from Dello, I got a little better fuel consumption. Their hydraulic oil seems to run quieter and cooler, and I also use their grease. Also use their way oil that I get from a friend with a big machine shop and he has evaluated it a lot better than myself and raves about it, especially the fact it has molly in the formula. No expert myself but seems like a good product.

We used Schaefer grease at work for a while. I don't remember which types. The yellow stuff was great for joint pins and sliding joints but not so great for bearings. With heat it seemed like it would get hard and not be drawn back into the bearing This was a parafin based and extremely waterproof. I know they made other types though. The company was always trying to find one grease for all and trying to idiot proof the system.

Jim:
I was thinking about using their way oil as I will buy another gallon within the next year. Tell me a little more of what you think of their way oil.
Thank you

Jim:
I was thinking about using their way oil as I will buy another gallon within the next year. Tell me a little more of what you think of their way oil.
Thank you