What's new
What's new

unknown Herbert No. 3

omega-projekt

Plastic
Hello all
I'm a 42 yr old electrician and it technician who lives in Norway and wants to open his horizon towards the metal working community.
I have a very basic knowledge on lathes and metal working, but very helpful friends who work in a Metal Workshop (helicopter repair).
To open this horizon my intention is to buy a lathe, but with a very low budget, the choices running to nearly zero.
I planned to buy a used "and little bit rusty" Herbert No.3 lathe (pls. see attached pictures).
I try to check what model this No.3 really is, but I can't find exactly the same model when I searched Google (also Google Pics) :confused::bawling:
I need this detailed informations to be well prepared what kind of equipment I will put in my workshop........
Maybe one of you had the same No.3 in your workshop and can answer me a few questions!
Furthermore, I wanted to ask you, if 300USD will be too much for this No.3?
With regards

Attachments

• right side.jpg
    right side.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 339
  • name.jpg
    name.jpg
    92.7 KB · Views: 476
  • left side.jpg
    left side.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 375
  • front.jpg
    front.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 879
  • support.jpg
    support.jpg
    87.3 KB · Views: 464
It's old old - late 20s to 30s ? and looks like it's had a hard life.

I haven't got one, as to tooling etc etc it depends on what you intend to do with a production type turret lathe.

$300 US = <>£180 sterling - which is, IMHO, absolute top scrap price.

I've owned Herbert no. 2 and 4 turret lathes...never seen a no. 3 before. "hard life" depends on how long it's been outside. Cool location. Any possibity of connecting it to power and running it ? Any major problem, like spindle bearings or gears and the machine is scrap...but it might run ok.

Omega,