What's new
What's new

OT: Are you an employee or the boss? What do you make?

Jay Fleming

Hot Rolled
I'm curious to see what the breakdown on PM is between employees and owners. I know there are several smaller shops where the owner is the one posting. I can tell by some posts, that person is the employee. I think there is only one case where I've seen two people from the same company posting. I don't need to name names since it's not important.

I've also wondered if most are in a job shop environment so you just make whatever comes through the door or you own or work for a company the makes a specific product or product group. There has been discussions about product costs and such and if giving away what you make might elude to what it costs you to make it, it's not necessary.

I guess I'll start. I'm an owner (one man show) and essentially I make the parts for my trikes. I browse to increase my knowledge because I'm basically self-taught with the help of the internet. Sometimes I'll ask a specific question on something I'm trying to do right then, but for the most part I'm a lurker.

Employee here. I used to manage a small(er) shop, about 10 people in the shop at our peak. I am just running production now at full time, but I work part time doing prototyping stuff and programming.

I have been retired from a factory tool and diemaking job for about 10 years. Now I have a job shop that I run myself.

I'm not a machinist. I'm a Chemist by trade. I learned to machine out of necessity in graduate school. I do machine work for fun, and I have been lucky enough to make money every now and then. But, if we are keeping score, I manage all of the chemistry resources for a small, but influential, and independent government agency.