What's new
What's new

Out smarted by hydraulic fittings.

CNCBurnout

Plastic
I'm trying to replace all the soft lines on a hydraulic fixture with hard lines but I'm not sure if I ordered the right fittings or maybe I'm to dense to see what I'm doing wrong. From the hydraulic component I have a male JIC 37 degree fitting that i want to go into a 1/4" hard line. Both fittings are from Vektek. The ferrule (sleeve) is 30-5000-44 and the nut is 30-4000-44. I flared a test piece of tubing and when I slip on the sleeve and nut I don't have enough thread to start the hard line onto the hydraulic components fitting. Shouldn't the sleeve fit thru the nut?

20180118_164923[1].jpg

20180118_165036.jpg

20180118_165121.jpg

I'm going going off of memory of AN fittings that I use to use for my wanna be fast race car but what I have here doesn't seem close to being right.
AN1.jpg

Other dumb questions
Should I double flare it? Can you double flare a 37 degree? Is the sleeve even necessary?

Thanks for reading!

Ferruels crimp down and grip the tube, no flare needed, no offense, but i think you should leave this to some one that knows what there doing. Hydrulics can cause a lot of injury if not connected properly by some one that knows what there doing and based on your picture, you clearly don't.

Thanks for the reply adama. Tomorrow I'll get some help from maintenance since they deal with a lot more hydraulics then I do. I'm just a programmer but i'm starting to deal with a lot more hydraulic fixture designs. But by the sounds of your reply I should only need to use the nut after flaring the tube?

LOL maybe it is a good time for me to just go home for the day and stop embarrassing myself. I've done enough damage for one day