What's new
What's new

Poorly reground end mill

jamesu229

Hot Rolled
Last year I bought a "professionally" reground Garr 630 1" , coated for around $50. It sat around here close to a year before I needed it at the day job. Tuesday I took it in to run as a finisher, just to make my life easier. It could only handle a .002 radial cut without major chatter. The back of the primary grind is dragging, as is the primary on the bottom. The hook angle is actually negative. I have never used anyone else's regrinds before. I can see why I have such a hard time out on a sales run. Anyone else get junk like this?BAD END MILL.jpg

I can’t comment on other people’s grinding but I regrind my own in a darex e90 I bought. I feel my re grinds cut better than factory new and have found a few factory grinds that are not ground concentric. It’s not hard to do and I picked it up after about two Endmills. Other than being off size I don’t see a problem with regrinds

I have only ground hss though not carbide.

Confused ...
Don't you do this as a side and know it better than most here? I most certainly respect your knowhow here.
Conflict of interest with the day job and a vent which I get in spades?
There are and always will be regrind houses that are not great at all things.
Yes I have this and it protected by the system.
Rasing a fuss as a user is not good for your career in bigger shops.
One has to tip toe here even when you know all is wrong.
Bob