What's new
What's new

positive or negative rake lathe tooling?

oxford

Cast Iron
First off I have very little knowledge on the subject. I am looking at getting an Aloris no16(or equivilent) tool holder for my QCTP. It is the holder that uses triangle insert tooling and has one on each end for turning and facing. The question is , I see you can get these in positive or negative rake. This will be in bxa size and used on a 12" clausing 5914, and used for all around operations.

Are these holders even worth purchasing, or am I better off just getting the plain turning/facing holders and then getting insert tooling for them?

No way to answer this question unless you describe the materials you will
be turning.

If you really really want a short answer:

Negative rake.

positive rake

But you might want to look at more tool holders than just that one.

Carbide requires a lot of sfpm or you get bad surface finishing, chip welding and low insert life. To turn mild steel on negative rake you should be thinking around 700-800 sfpm. Do the math on what you plan on turning and see if it makes sense :)

Get a few inserts for the holders you already have and give it a try.

You're going to get a lot of diverse answers on this, for sure.

Me, I would probably stay away from the expense of that particular holder and just get a few regular No.1 and/or No.2 holders. Part of the reason is that because of the limited HP and available spindle speeds of your lathe, you'd be further limited by the TPG inserts' limited range of molded-in chipbreakers. Most TPG's are just flat-topped inserts offering 0º rake and depend upon a largely-ineffective mechanical chipbreaker.

That's not to say you can't be successful with the No.16 style holder and TPG inserts. I use them occasionally for finishing with a CTGPR 16-3C holder I have (in a CA-size QCTP) and Ray Behner seems to have similar good results. Not a good toolholder for facing unless I kick it out a few degrees and take very light cuts.