What's new
What's new

Precision toolmakers vise ID

R1Rider

Aluminum
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to machining. A friend gave this vise to me but we are unsure who the maker is. Does it look familiar to anyone? I need the rod end that connects to the bolt. Here is a list of makers I have found but none seem to be direct matches. MOST don't have the holes on the top to bolt this to your machine. Is that something that is done to the vise when you buy it new?

Starrett
Fowler
Interstate
Wilton
Tormach
Gibraltar
Suburban Tool
Shars

Attachments

• 20180219_154838.jpg
    20180219_154838.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 544
  • 20180219_154859.jpg
    20180219_154859.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 466
  • 20180219_154910.jpg
    20180219_154910.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 422
  • 20180219_154915.jpg
    20180219_154915.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 459
Seems that with having a drill press you might drill the dowel hole, then drill and tap the tightening threaded hole..
Hack saw away what need be hacked away and make it work. Cold rolled steel would be OK for this project.
Alro steel retail store likely has stock and would cut a piece the right size.
Don't know what they charge for one cut.

I inherited two similar that were started but never completed.

Obviously fairly common for such things to be made by the person that might use same for a lifetime

It looks very similar to the ones sold on MSC's website. Some are identical, they just dont have the countersunk holes on the top.

It has a different pivot bolt than the one I bought from Shars about 10 years ago. But the general design concept is pretty standard. It appears to be a decent quality, at least the solid part of the vise, big SHCS's. But the vises are so easy to make, it's almost a waste of time for any reputable company to build one as the Chinese one will surely be $100 cheaper.

R

Anyone here want to make me an eyelet that will work? I can measure the pin and provide the thread size/pitch.