What's new
What's new

Purchasing my first boring bars

SharkTamer

Plastic
I'm a very green machinist so bare with me if I say something stupid ;) . I work at a welding fabrication shop doing CAD design and I am moving a lathe I purchased last year into a building on premises. I'll have access 24/7 to my lathe, and the mills and welding machines if I provide my own tooling and materials. Some work we get right now requires really simple machining (mostly boring ~6" i.d. pipe) that I could now do on the clock while also getting paid a price per part for using my machine and tooling. My lathe is a summit 14 with an aloris axa tool post. I have a good amount of aloris holders that came with the lathe and tool post.

I'm basically looking for suggestions on boring bars assuming most of what I'll be boring is crappy low grade 6-8" pipe. I don't mind investing a little money into good tools, but I'm still on a tight budget so I'll most likely be buying second hand on ebay. I'm not used to buying my own tooling and I've always found the amount of styles of inserts a little overwhelming, so any suggestions there would be helpful. What style inserts are most affordable and will be available for the foreseeable future. Thanks in advance.

just make one, they're a pretty easy beginner project
IMG_0321.jpg
here's the first one I made, along with a holder for the tool post

make it as big as you can

Well, I definitely won't be baring with you, because I only get naked with women. ;)

As far as the boring bar is concerned, maybe make a few before buying one. That way you will have some idea what you are buying.

If you're just boring big old shit ass pipe, I'd make make my own bar. Especially if you have to bore deep into the pipe.