What's new
What's new

Question on heat treatin A-2

Krutch

Stainless
I hardened a piece of A-2 and it cooled in air overnight. Am tempering it this morning and can't see why the delay between hardening and tempering would be detrimental. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. I am a novice to heat treating though I understand the process somewhat.
Thanks for any advice and smart ass answers are also appreciated.
Krutch

Most sources recommend not ever letting the part get below 125F.. Keeps stresses down. I usually set it on top of the furnace after it is fairly cool. I have done the same as you, though.. Letting part sit all night, never had any problems.

It REALLY is better to put the part in a PRE HEATED tempering oven when it gets to where you can BARELY hold it with juggling(about 140º). The tool will last longer and perform better. If you are making an important tool or part,better heed this advice.

I have made a lot of parts out of high carbon mystery steel (plow shares, leaf springs etc.) The only problem I have ever had is not tempering the steel in a timely manner and having it crack overnight. I never do that any more but if it doesn't crack then I don't see a problem with the tempering being effective or anything.

Depends what the part is used for, and if/how many/where the stress concentrations are. But in generally, you probably have invisible micro cracks that can lead to problems down the line, or not, again depending on what the part is used for.

The carbides (which is what makes the steel hard) are larger than the sum of the particles they form from, & expand quite a bit in the steel. As it cools they try to crack the surface. Annealing changes the matrix to somewhat smaller particles & allows them to rearrange with less stress in the material. This is a vast over- simplification, you can (& should) read about the process if you are going to be doing much steel hardening.

smt