What's new
What's new

Question for those very experienced anodizing and aluminum

moto367

Aluminum
This is probably going to be a silly or basic question to most but I have very little experience actually working with aluminum. I have some purchased parts for some of my hobbies that are machined from 6061 and anodized. As the colors start to fade or wear they look like shit. Does the anodizing provide any structural integrity to the aluminum? I know there's several types ( 1, 2 # 3 and hardcoat) but excluding the hardcoat if I remove or polish the piece to bare aluminum will I be weakening the parts in any way? I also thought I read somewhere that they can heat treat aluminum. I've only HT tool steels and I know it can't be the same process. Any help or referrals to some reading is greatly appreciated. thanks

I will assume that your parts were processed as Type II with color which is very standard for anodize. This provides very little in the way of wear protection (about .00005" thk.) but you do get a lot of color choices. If you want more wear resistance then you would specify Type III. You can get up to about .004" penetration and build up. Your color choices are very limited to usually black and clear which is actually a dark grey/green. One thing to know before doing this is that it does build up so holes get smaller as well as tapped holes and OD's get larger. If you have close tolerance holes and tapped holes they will need to be masked to avoid be anodized. If you have close tolerance OD's then you have to machine the part accordingly and hope the plater follows your written instructions in regard to buildup/penetration. Hope this helps.