What's new
What's new

Modifying My Mr. Deburr tumblers

kustomizer

Diamond
This is kind of a long story, I have 6 of these that I have been using for 20+ years, the 3cf tub size and shape work well for the parts I do so after trying a few other machines I decided to modify these. The problem is that they need to be bolted to the floor to stay put and operate properly, this makes the building shake enough that it shows up in the finish on our VMC's. When I built my existing building I made a tumbler room with a slab of its own poured over bubble wrap and seperated from the rest of the building then insulated the crap out of it 9 ways to Sunday. This has worked well until now, I am moving and my tumblers will have to be in my garage for perhaps 6 months and I don't want to shake the house apart so I made a call sown to C&M Topline (the folks that made them ). I asked why my Burr Bench can roll around on casters yet stay where I put it and these need bolted down and shake the building. The guy I spoke to told me it was because the Burr Bench is sprung by the upper lip of the tub and theirs is sprung from the bottom of the tub. Last weekend I made a new stand that supports the tub from the upper lip atop of some Chevy valve springs, WOW what a dramatic change, is seta on the floor and doesn't move around, shake the building and it makes about 30% less noise. I will make covers for it and mount it on casters when I get some time. We have run several batches of parts through it it works the same as it ever did, I wish I had done this years ago.
IMG_6730 (2).jpg
IMG_6731 (1).jpg

GREAT info ,, I have 3 or there tumblers and like them but the noise does drive one nuts ,, I built a box around mine to quiets them down ,, but the floor still moves