What's new
What's new

Runout on lathe....

kentlarouche

Plastic
:confused:I was wondering if somone could tell me why I would have runout on my 3 jaw chuck. I have .005 inch runout on my lathe chuck. There doesnt seem to be any play in the spindle. The runout seems to be with the chuck itself. I have a 16 in Standard Modern Utilathe with an 8 inch Pratt 3 jaw chuck D1-5 mount. Is there a way to fix the jaws so as to eliminate the runout? Is the problem in the jaw threads? What about if I take off the chuck and rotate it to the next pin hole on the backplate? Would my problem be worn jaws? They seem to be in good condition. I am new to lathes but this runout thing is driving me nuts. Any comments or suggestions????

its the nature of the beast, that beast being a 3 jaw chuck. Hobbyists like and defend them, but the fact remains they dont hold as well and will NEVER cut run out down to 0.0005 over its griping range.

You COULD get a set-tru chuck and be able to adjust for a given range of diameters, but whats the point? You might as well put that 4 jaw chuck on and adjust it anyways. 4 jaws are far more versatile, and accurate.

Your idea of rotating to the next pin hole is a good one, as alot of chucks and old spindles have a sweet spot were the run out is the least.

If you check the runout at multiple diameters from 1/4" up to maximum you'll find the runout will vary quite a bit if your chuck is at all typical. The scroll is not particularly accurate and becomes less so over time, depending on how hard you crank the chuck handle.

This of course means that if you grind your jaws true they will be true only for the diameter at which you ground them. I'd take a 0.005" chuck, but one shouldn't expect repeatability from a three-jaw. A Set-Tru chuck can help some.