What's new
What's new

Rust inside compressor tank

AlexO

Banned
Got a small ( 150l) compressor. The tank seems to be rusted badly inside - forgot to drain it for a few years. I wonder if I could cut the ends on the welds, sandblast it, paint and TIG weld it back. At least I could check how bad it is. How serious is an explosion of one of those ( I run aprox 6 bar ) ? Or do they tend to crack and leek air firstly ? How critical is the weld quality ? I am an innept TIG welder.

Bad idea.
Buy a new tank!

Compressed air explosions can be pretty darn serious a blast.
Maybe you can weld it up fine, maybe not. The price of failure in this case is having your arm or head ripped off in a blast if the tank lets go. Go spend a little cash buying a new tank instead.

Paul F.

I have a friend that had an air tank explode in his shop. They are very much like a grenade when they go, throwing shrapnel everywhere. Pieces of the tank took at least a 3" by 5" section of my friends forearm right to the bone. His arm was nearly destroyed. After tons of reconstructive surgery and taking muscle tissue from other places on his body, they have made his arm usable again, but it looks horrible.

I would be safe and get rid of the tank.

I would like to see some slow film footage of a tank blowing. Sounds like a job for the Mythbusters team?

Our setup at work comprises two 40hp 8bar screw compressors which run alternately giving about 5cu m/min, a dryer, oil/water seperator and an air receiver that is 7 feet tall by 3 feet diameter. All pipe work is 3" galvanised.

We use a lot of air! 90% of it goes to running four custom built air-over-hydraulic printing presses. Each one generates a stamping pressure of 20,000kg.