What's new
What's new

seeking advice with product packaging (skin packaging, clicker presses, etc)

Garwood

Diamond
Diving into a new product that is much higher volume than anything I've done before.

The product has 12 lightweight metal parts each about 3" long and 4 pieces of small hardware and a 1/2 page of instructions.

The product will only be sold direct. Shipped to the customer. It will not be on store shelves, maybe stocked on dealer/installer shelves.

Skin packaging seems like a decent way to do it to me, but I've never done it before. The cardboard backer can have a sheet of instructions/graphics. The parts can be set on top and the film applied to hold the parts. Slip the packaged parts into a shipping box (or stack many into a larger box) and not much if any packing filler should be required.

Is there anything to be aware of investing in skin packaging equipment?

How does the cardboard backer work? I haven't asked the local packaging places about cutting/printing for this job, but when speaking to them in the past for lower qty stuff the prices have been beyond stupid.

How are others handling this type of packaging?

Thanks!

I've never used skin packaging myself (all our stuff is sold in boxes), but regarding cost, you might want to call some local makerspaces. FabLab up in Tacoma, WA has a skin packaging machine all the members can use. If you're looking at investing in the equipment, it could be worth the trouble of locating one you can play with beforehand.

The cardboard or corrugated backing panel is coated with heat activated adhesive to bond with the film. Skin packaging is excellent as it protects your product and if done well makes a very good first impression with your customer.

Packaging is expensive. Get used to it. Not much to the equipment.

Make the best of the packaging though. The quality of the presentation on the packaging and clear instructions may help repeat business...