What's new
What's new

Slot milling general rules

Greenworks

Plastic
Hi all,
I've been mostly turning stuff, but my lathe has live tool capabilities. I've got turning somewhat down for a self taught novice, but I've got some questions about milling. I know this topic has probably been covered half a million times on this forum, and I tried search with little success. What are some rules of thumb for slot milling? I've got an open ended slot that I'm needing to make with a 0.0625" ball nose endmill with a final depth of 0.225". the slot width is .0625". Material is 6061 T6 aluminum. What is the DOC for stepping down into a slot based on? Percentage of the tool width probably? Feeds and speeds would all stay the same right? For regular milling what percentage of the tool width axially would you use for a regular cut that's full depth? I know nothings hard and fast, but there has to be guidelines. The Machinist's Handbook laid it all out perfectly in engineer gibberish that was completely unintelligible without a for dummies translation.
Thanks all in advance

IME the problem with ball EMs is the cutting speed at the centre is ZERO but unlike an angled EM a BN has to cut at the centre to create the radius.

If I had the live tools I'd run a 90deg EM to a depth leaving the rad of the BN EM + a few 000ths '' to clean up.

Dont what face your slot is going in.It could be an open end slot bit like a k/way but using a ball nose.Slot has a .0625 wide(Tolerance?)the tolerance will dictate how you do it.But the tool is 1/16th ins?Normally recomended half diameter of tool=Depth of cut.If it was a thro slot I would stand them up and use a saw with a radius on then it would be the full depth-