What's new
What's new

small metal lathe suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

caryncbreeef

Plastic
Hi all I'll try to keep it short. I am a retired/disabled machinist. I owned a medium size CNC shop for about a dozen years making my own products and doing limited job work. Now to keep busy and make some extra $$ I am producing a line of products, one of a kinds mostly. I'll be working in brass/copper/bronze mostly but some 1018 and other steels similar. simple turning/id threading mostly, parts up to 6" in length max. Unimats seem too small, but they look mighty cute! Sherline seems ok, not sure of the power, Taig is decent, I have their mill and have been happy with it for 7 years so far. I am leery of the chinese 7xs although the micro mark with digital / no gears seems not bad, and a few others I saw mentioned here. I would prefer my old South Bend 9 (first lathe I ever had, got it for $200 wish I didnt sell it along w/ the biz) but unless I get a steal they are out of my $$ now. Thanks for your comments. Regards, Cary

If those would fit your workpiece size, OK... but they are not a cheap option. You may find that Unimat is WAY out of your price range..... they are selling for silly dollars now.... totally unrelated to their actual usefulness.

Neither Sherline or Taig, new, is as low priced as used Logan, or some others, and you may not get as much extra with it...I am not sure what they come with. SB seem to have some "brand-related markup" that doubles the price sround here, but elsewhere they are not so expensive.