What's new
What's new

small mill reconditioning and conversion

Andrew Wilding

Aluminum
Hello all. I thought this may be of some interest to you. I am a design engineer but in my spare time mess about in my shed making things. I have recently finished reconditioning and converting a little horizontal mill to a cnc vertical.

This is the original mill with the replacement mill in the background that made it a bit redundant.

CameraImport4thJuly2007579.jpg

The small centec mill ways were well worn and the leadscrews had lots of backlash so it was not very useful for accurate work.

The target was to convert this tired mill into a cnc with a part accuracy of +/- 0.001" over a working envelope of about 6"x5"x5". The cost limit for the conversion was £500 ($800) including the original machine, computer, all the materials required for the conversion and electronics for the controller.

This is the finished article after remachining the ways and teflon coating them, scraping the ways to alignment, making the leadscrews and antibacklash nuts adding stepper motors and making a vertical spindle

017.jpg

073-1.jpg

anti backlash nut

013-1.jpg

I realise this is a bit HSM for some of you but if there is interest I will go through the reconditioning and conversion process with pictures of alignment measuring set ups which may be helpful to those trying to recondition a small knee mill.

A quick thought...you may want to weigh the servo on the X axis and put a counter weight on the right side, bolt on a steel bar on the end of the table...so the table wears evenly. How are you lubricating the ways? Have Turcite on the ways? ? The machine really looks sharp...your day time company is lucky to have you. :-)

I realise this is a bit HSM for some of you but if there is interest I will go through the reconditioning and conversion process with pictures of alignment measuring set ups which may be helpful to those trying to recondition a small knee mill.