What's new
What's new

Newb with Rockwell 15-081 question

jp4lsu

Plastic
Newb with OLD Drill Press Question

Hey guys,
I'm a newb here and a novice as a machinist while working at an engine machine shop years ago while going to college.

I have my "paw-paw's" old Lathe that I'm starting to go through and do a semi refurb and check out. It's in great shape though. Just been sitting awhile.

I'm picking up a Rockwell 15-081 (15" drill press) today and am trying to find info on it. It is currently fitted with a 3/8" chuck and I'll want to switch that out.

Question:
Is this chuck threaded onto the spindle with this model?

Recommendations on a good chuck?
Jacobs Ball bearing in 1/2 or 5/8?
I've heard of some German keyless chucks. Don't remember name but I'm sure they are more than I want to spend.

Also, what is the best way to check run out when I get it home?

Wish I had the money for an old Powermatic but this baby will have to do for now. Thanks for the help and info. Look forward learning lots here.
JP

Last edited:
I have a 1974 Rockwell catalog that includes the 15-081 drill press. It came with a 1/2" Jacobs chuck with a 33 Jacobs taper mount. The chuck should be the now-rare style with a threaded locking collar. A properly fitted spanner wrench will unscrew the collar and force the chuck off the 33 taper. Chuck removal and installation was easy and quick. Rockwell sold an assortment of tooling that fit these spindles, like drum sanders, buffing wheel arbors and collet chucks. If the chuck now on the machine does not have the locking collar, it will be extremely difficult to remove the chuck. I have not seen any of these chucks for sale for many years, but sometimes rare stuff turns up on eBay.