What's new
What's new

Starrett Last Word Indicators - Who Uses?

ShopRatCNC

Plastic
Hi, Just looking thru the new MSC flyer, was surpised to see Last Word Indicators. .0005 complete set $184.00. My question is does anybody buy and/or use Last Words any more?

Thanks, Shoppie

I have one for sale for $100. and $10 for shipping. It's only .001 tho.

IMGP3226.jpg

IMGP3227.jpg

IMGP3225.jpg

JB
:cheers:

I have three sets of Last Word indicators. The 0.0005" LW indicator is exactly the same as the 0.001" LW indicator except the 0.0005" has an extra graduation between each 0.001" graduation. You can eyeball that much ;)

I have been using them for about 10 years. I bought another used set about 5 years ago and sent them in to Starrett for servicing. Works fine.

I like em for easily getting in to awkward places. The tip has to be placed carefully and the orientation of the surface to be indicated, the tip, the body of the indicator and the plane that the variation you are trying to measure all have to be aligned correctly otherwise you will get spurious readings. The do not react reliably to side loads.

I also like the Starrett Universal Indicator (plunger on the back) for being quick to set up and reliable.

When the situation requires it I use one of my Compacs (0.001" or 0.0001".)

Best to buy an LW new unless you can check it out first. The sets are pretty versatile for different setups that can be done.

-DU-

I've got one, it came in a box of tools I bought as a package deal. I've had it (complete set) for maybe 12 or 13 years, and I've used it maybe 3 times.
If you're shopping for a new indicator, buy something with dovetails on it that can be used with a minimum of fuss with the majority of universal indicator holders....or like John Weldon says, buy an Interapid (I've been lusting after one of them for years :drool5:)