What's new
What's new

Starting out and looking for help and resources

Status
Not open for further replies.

jools

Aluminum
Hi All

I'm just starting out in machining and am going to get myself a manual mill as I like the idea of creating pieces by hand. My main reason is to build my own dive gear so I'll mainly be machining plastics at the start (Delrin) and I have a couple of questions about the mill I should get and the equipment I need along with more specific ones about plastic feed rates and cutting speeds.

Firstly the equipment I am thinking of getting is a standard mini-mill, DRO's, Rotary table, and then the milling bits and consumables.

In relation to the rotary table I have a question as one of the pieces I may be machining will be about 180mm (7 1/2") in diameter but the rotary tables that fit on the mini mill are about 4" diameter so that leaves a massive discrepancy. Are there jaws available for a chuck that essentially overhang the exterior radius of the work piece so you can hold larger pieces in a smaller chuck? Would this cause vibration issues even with soft plastic?

Secondly if anyone has any tid-bits of info, or can direct me to useful guides on the web about cutting speeds and machining Delrin, the types of tools to use etc I would greatly appreciate it.

Cheers

Jools

Secondly if anyone has any tid-bits of info, or can direct me to useful guides on the web about cutting speeds and machining Delrin, the types of tools to use etc I would greatly appreciate it.

Cheers

Jools

Dont buy a mini-mill.
They are essentially junk except for model-making/watch making sized work in plastic and aluminum only.

You will discover its limitations and outgrow it very quickly.

Yes you can find lots of videos on youtube where people made acceptable stuff with a mini mill....but what they didnt tell you is it took them 10 times as long as it would have on bridgeport sized mill.

THEY SUCK.