What's new
What's new

Suggestions for improving work habits

Sm412

Aluminum
Hey guys,

So over the years I've developed excellent work habits. I boast a positive attitude (i never complain), I am always on time, I bust my ass, I communicate effectively, I accept feedback, I work to improve based on said feedback, I am never idle, I get along with coworkers. My work is of a high quality; I do a good job and take pride in what I do. I put effort into learning as quickly and as efficiently as possible. I consider myself a well-rounded, valuable employee.

One issue: I'm not very fast. I've worked production and can usually keep up, especially if I have a machine or production line setting the pace for me. But when I set my own pace, I have trouble.

I worked as a painter for some time. Painting was okay (not something I see myself doing long-term), but I was ultimately let go because I couldn't keep up with the pace required. This shattered me. I tried so hard and it wasn't enough. I gave it my all and failed. I'm still painting part time for a guy who says he doesn't give a shit how fast I am as long as I do a good job, but I feel I should establish an efficient pace anyway.

In school I am going to work on my pace as best I can, ideally being above average by the time I graduate. Do any of you have tips on how I can accomplish that, even if it's just a certain attitude or way of thinking? I would like to work on my speed while I do this part time gig as well.

This isn't a game to me. I WILL be successful. This is just one of my roadblocks.

Keep doing what you are doing. Quality should always come first. You painter guy understands that. The speed thing happens naturally.

My experience is hand eye coordination is some what genetic based some how. Some people just are naturally a lot faster than others. Yep practice helps but thers still some built in limits.