What's new
What's new

Surface Speed

rockfish

Titanium
Am I the only guy here that has never learned or used surface speeds ???

I've been a machinist since 1982, and never once was taught anything about it. I was always told that the speeds and feeds outlined in the charts were written by people that didn't really actually run machines. Everything I had ever learned about feeds and speeds was by sight, sound and feel of the cut.

I suppose I would need to know much more about it if I ran a CNC, but I've never had a problem judging what speeds and feeds to use on any given part, and I've never been told I'm going too fast or too slow.

I'm as you rockfish

I use all my senses.

machine noise and vibration or surface finish tells you when your not doing something right.

All the best.mark

I do use surface footage as a guidline probably because I was taught that way but I'm still using it today 23 years later. I don't use it all the time but when I'm cutting some strange material I make a note of the best speed so I can use it next time I come across the material. It does come in handy when runing a CNC in a production mode and I always teach my apprentices how to use it and leave it up to them if they want to use it.

I was taught the hows and whys of figuring speeds and feeds; but rarely bother. Experience will tell you what will work best.

I don't run production parts, a lot of the stuff I do is repair or one-offs. It's tough to identify material types when you're doing repair work anyway. Maybe you know what the part SHOULD have been made from; but ....

As far as my home shop work goes, economy takes presidence over speed, and besides, I rescue a lot of material from the scrap box (was that 4140, 1018, etc.) for stuff that isn't fussy. Running a little slower cuts down on my cutting tool expenses.

Kevin

I start with the reccommended numbers and depart from there as conditions indicate.