What's new
What's new

Tapping a large diameter hole in wood

TTalma

Aluminum
Firast let me start by saying I'm a woodworker, and only have access to woodworking machines.

I have been trying to figure out a way to tap a hole for a wooden screw, for bench screws for vises. The inner diameter is 1 1/2" and the outer is 2 1/2".

The hole is 3" deep and the piece of wood its in is 6' long. The wood is hard maple.

And I have to make 40 of these holes for workbenches for my woodworking club. (10 benches, 4 vises each)

For 1 or two holes I could make a tap by inserting a cutter in a wooden screw and slowly scraping it out but I'm looking for an easier way.

Does anyone know of a method or where I can buy a tap this size?

It would seem that a small high speed cutter, ala router bit for lack of better analogy would be the tool of choice to efficiently create the threadform.

However, getting the rotating cutter to traverse a helical path with the proper lead is another, greater challenge. It could be affixed to a metallic screw with the same thread pitch, with hopefully some lateral adjustment for the "depth of cut". Keeping everything aligned and concentric is another issue to be resolved.

This isn't a step-by-step solution, but a concept which might be worth developing for 40 pcs.

Matt, that is what I was thinking. Mount a low profile cross slide to a face plate on lathe, and mount an electric or air router or die grinder to that. Do whatever necessary to keep overhangs short, and rigid. Don't chintz, "even though this is only wood".

Or, hold the tool (router) in a large 4 jaw chuck, set to cut the desired diameter. Just be sure all is foolproof secure.

Then mount a vise or angle plate fixture to the cross slide or compound to hold the length of wood at the desired center height.