What's new
What's new

Three Jaw Chuck Runout Problem

Ryland

Aluminum
I am very new to the machining and this forum, I am only 15 years old. I bought a lightly used 3 jaw chuck off of PM. As expected it has quite a bit of runout because the backplate was not made on my lathe. When a piece of T6 Al tube is chucked up I measured 0.01" of runout about 1/4" away from the jaws. When I got it I took the chuck apart and cleaned it out and lubed it so there shouldn't be any foreign material in the scroll.

Here is a drawing of the run out as I measured it on the back plate:
backplatedrawing.jpg

Another problem is that how the holes in the backplate were drilled it is extremely difficult to bolt it to the chuck, it requires a lot of fudging and messing around to get it on. I have tried all the different combinations of holes in the chuck and the backplate and none of them are any better.

What do I need to do in order to get it to run true? I have already spent a while searching the archives of this forum and have not found anything that really fits my situation.

Thanks,
Ryland

Attachments

• backplatedrawing.jpg
    backplatedrawing.jpg
    17 KB · Views: 923
Ryland

Beautifully worded and imaged question, it's a delight to (try to) answer when you have the facts laid out. Welcome to the forum, you'll do extra well, because you communicate so well.

You're going to have to re-machine the wobbly face and the register (presumably but not necessarily the one you show as 0.003" TIR)

There are several ways (lots actually, as this thread will no doubt reveal) to recover the lost fit.

One is to bypass Go, do not collect $200, and go direct to a home-made "Tru-Set" or "Set-Tru" or "Grip-Tru" deal, using grubscrews through the chuck body periphery. If you search on these terms (with and without hyphens) on this forum, you'll get somewhere