What's new
What's new

Tips for engineers from machinists

philmeik

Aluminum
Ok, let's face it Engineers make some stupid decisions sometimes. So how about we give some advice to our friends on the other side of the print. Some of you may know that I have recently moved into a mechanical engineering position and I can tell you that it is a blessing to the engineering department that I am here. Before I moved to engineering I was a machinist in the shop for this same company. Since I have moved though I have found my jaw on the floor alot of the time with some of the questions I get. Maybe one day this will become a required reading for engineering students(wouldn't that be wonderful).

This I am sure will also be a very good opportunity for some of you to vent about some of the ridiculous callouts you have gotten over the years.

So let me get the ball rolling.

- If you are calling out a tapped hole in 1/4" plate or similar unless it needs to be bottoming make it a through hole.

- Unless a 6-32 tap is necessary go with 8-32

- No I cannot tap a 2-56 hole 2" deep :nutter:

- Designing a part to use mill finish material? Then don't give me tolerances tighter than raw bar stock actually is if you don't want me facing it.

- A BIG ONE, if that dimension is not important then call it out as such but don't give me crap for how long it takes because you have it dimensioned like it's going into space.

No I cannot drill a .063 hole through a 3" piece of stainless on a lathe. At least not if you expect it to come out at all concentric on the other side.

Ahh this old tale. You guys aren't tired of this yet?

It might shock you guys to know that there are often more variables in a design than how easy it is to machine. I would say the majority of mechanical engineers may never have any interaction with a machine shop as part of their profession. Yet everyone here will demand that they have 10 years of machinist training as part of their degree.